Stationary Drifting

A-Z of me

3 Comments

I have my best of blogs for March all lined up to go but I’m waiting for confirmation from the people that I’m featuring on if I can post some of their photos. I’m still learning the ins and outs of blog etiquette and it feels right to ask. SO in the meantime, I borrowed this quiz thing from Ellen over at Black and White and Loved All Over as a quick and easy post for today. I’m a nerd and I love these types of things, I remember when they were going around facebook a long time ago but I feel like we used to email them around to each other in high school too.

So, here it goes:

A. Age: 30
B. Bed size: a very saggy, very old, second hand queen that I would love to replace SO badly! If money and apartment/bedroom size wasn’t a factor I would get a king size in a second. I love space when I sleep.
C. Chore that you hate: The laundry. Not so much the washing of clothes per se, but the packing up and trekking of them to the laundromat. I HATE hanging out in the laundromat for a few hours, fighting for machines and watching all my bills be turned into quarters and then fed into machines that give me 4mins of drying time for 25cents. Ugh.
D. Dogs: None these days. I would really like a boxer or a pit bull. Mars and I were joking about getting a bull dog and naming it Stickers. At this point we need a little more space and a little more stability before we can make that decision. But man, I would love a dog to bits.
E. Essential start to your day: What Mars calls ‘ipad time’, every morning when I wake up I spend a good 30-45mins laying in bed and reading what’s going on in the world on my ipad. Partially its because I’m a tech addict, but partially its because its a great quiet time moment when I can adjust to being awake and without having to talk to anyone or make decisions. I wake up slowly. After that its coffee.
F. Favorite color: tough call, I would have to say variations of dark red. Though I rarely ever wear it…I’ve been getting into yellows and oranges too, which I used to hate…
G. Gold or Silver: Gold (and silver, not picky)
H. Height: 5″6
I. Instruments you play: I played the flute for 6 years as a kid into high school. Taught myself a bit of guitar. I’m not very good at either.
J. Job title: Master’s student, Teaching Assistant, Professional Job Hunter
K. Kids: None yet, but like the dog I would love to have some when the time is right. Or at least when I’ve found a bit more stability.
L. Live: Montreal. I’ve been here almost 6 years, which is 1 year shy of the longest I’ve been anywhere. It feels nice, but very weird since I’m a still pretty nomadic at heart. I think I’m ready to leave Montreal now but not because I don’t still love it. Mostly because I need a job and a change of scenery.
M. Mother’s name: Lynn (her birthday is tomorrow!)
N. Nicknames: Kee & boobear (mars – amongst MANY others), squirt (dad), sweetheart (mom), K-(insert word) ex: K-money. I don’t have a lot of nicknames, my name is hard to shorten except to Keith, which I refuse to be called.
O. Overnight hospital stays: I think a couple as a baby, other than that none. I narrowly avoided a stay after one of my elbow surgeries. They let me go home for the night and sleep in my own bed as long as I promised to be back by first rounds in the morning. I was so grateful, not only because hospitals are not great places for staying but also because it was my birthday.
P. Pet peeves: people who do more talking than listening, leaving the sponge or dish cloth in the bottom of the sink, open cabinet doors, sleeping in unmade beds
Q. Quote: “There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.” Leonard Cohen, Selected Poems, 1956-1968
R. Right or left handed: very very right handed
S. Siblings: such a complicated question for a blended family like mine. I guess the shorthand way to say this is 2 brothers and 2 step-brothers.
U. Underwear: not sure what the question is here. Yes I wear them, every day, usually of the boxer or ladies underwear variety. Never thongs, those things are evil.
V. Vegetable you hate: mushrooms. I can tolerate cooked ones but uncooked ones make me gag (I also hate raisins)
W. What makes you run late: everything/a deep love of being comfortable at home/Mars / the internet
X. X-Rays you’ve had: oh man, lots. Almost all on the 1 elbow I broke and had surgery on. At least, I don’t know, 7 on it? 1 on the other elbow that I fractured years ago. And maybe 1 on my foot? I can’t remember if they just told me I fractured it or if it was double checked with an xray…
Y. Yummy food that you make: anything sweet, I’m a good baker. I’m a master at soups of all kinds. I just won a rib competition so I guess my ribs are excellent, even if it was the first time I ever made them.
Z. Zoo animal: Lions, tigers and otters

In other news, happy April Fools. All of this is real info because I’m bad at and feel bad for doing April Fool’s jokes. I got caught a few times today over facebook. Good ones friends, good ones.

3 thoughts on “A-Z of me

  1. D. Go to the SPCA/pound and select a mature mutt that has no hope and turn his life around. He will love you to bits. You’ll feel great, and well you should.

    • One day…there are a lots of dogs that need homes and I don’t need a puppy (SO much work!). I just don’t have the money to take care of a pup right now, or really the space. Plus I don’t know what my life schedule will turn out to be or where we’ll end up living. All important things to consider before committing. I would REALLY like one though!

    • Tell you what. Volunteer an hour per month and go to the pound and scratch a couple of ears. Grab a slobbery face; pull it up close and say, “Who’s a good boy?” Making a sad dog grin costs nothing.