Stationary Drifting

Eating: Apple Cider Caramels (more from homemade holidays)

2 Comments

apple cider caramelsI LOVE smitten kitchen, I’ve posted stuff of Deb’s many times (like here, here, and here). The recipes she creates are low maintenance, usually from things I have around the house (depending on if I have groceries at that particular point), and always delicious. I had the pleasure of flipping through her cookbook a while back and lemmetellyouwhat. Its amazing. I can’t wait to get my grubby little kitchen hands on it.

I made these Apple Cider Caramels as part of my homemade holidays challenge. My step-dad is a hard guy to buy for but he does love candy because he can’t eat chocolate anymore. They went over well, he was touched I made something for him and happy with the gift. Their fanciness to time ratio is awesome. People are pretty impressed by all the individually wrapped and handmade candies, though I think it took me less than 2 hrs to make and all with common ingredients.

These were straight forward to make, even without investing in a candy thermometer. Mine turned out a little soft so maybe I need to reduce them down a little more next time. They were ridiculously delicious though and much appreciated in my house and my mom’s. Mars was a little sad that I didn’t make any for him so I snuck a few in his stocking.

2 thoughts on “Eating: Apple Cider Caramels (more from homemade holidays)

  1. haha “lemmetellyouwhat”- i loved that. and holy cow, you actually made these?! they sound absolutely delicious, i’d love to play around the kitchen one day and try!

    xo Marlen

    • They WERE absolutely delicious! And I’m not kidding that they were pretty easy to make, just not fast. I’m no wiz in the kitchen, I don’t have any special tools (I bought my first whisk the other day!) and I managed to make these without any real frustration. I totally recommend it, people will be impressed with your talent!

      Ps. Thanks for the comment! You have no idea how excited I get about comments.