Stationary Drifting

Best of Blogs: February

4 Comments

Blogs! I’m in love. I can’t remember when I started getting into them…I’ve had my own blog (in various locations) since 2007/2008 ish but I never really read other people’s until the last year and a bit. I have an app on my ipad that I have all my favourite (ie: checked daily) blogs on it and I have a good 18-20 on it. I should do a post on the blogs I really like sometime soon but for now I want to profile the blogs that I’m particularly excited about right now.

NOTE: all the photos belong to the blogger they are associated with, click each photo to be taken to their corresponding post.

click above (or here) to be taken to pencil box

I talked about Katie over at pencil box earlier but only briefly. Her blog is my all time favourite new blog, and up there in my all time favourite ever. I came across her blog the other week when I was searching for something new to read and so was looking through blog recommendations over at a beautiful mess. I waswas instantly hooked. Her photos alone were enough to make me swoon, I’m such a sucker for light and airy photography with good colours. She’s pretty amazing at taking really creative and impressive self portraits too. I need to learn that talent…

After I got past the gorgeousness of the photography I found equally beautiful writing. She writes about the stuff of every day. Whether its raising her kids and their shenanigans, her love life (which is so sweet its almost enviable), projects, inspiration, and daily goings-on she describes it all in a way that’s almost poetic. Also she has incredible style. I’m not ashamed to say that I was so taken with her writing style and positive outlook on life that I read nearly all her archives. It sounds like I’m gushing and I am. She rocks, go read her blog!

Katie is an artist, and not just in photography, she is a lovely painter as well. She lives in Ohio with her 2 kids and fiancee.

click above (or here) to be taken to the site

I found Liz’s blog very recently. In fact it was the inspiration for my recent sewing spree. I spent one whole night reading through the tutorials and posts on this blog and then went out the next day and bought/spent a little too much on a bunch of fabric. Its been 3 days and I’ve already made 2 dresses and a skirt. The tutorials are super easy and straight forward, you don’t need to make a pattern you just need a measuring tape, some scissors, a sewing machine and (in some cases) some clothes to trace. She focuses a lot on thrifted and refashioned fabric and clothes, which I appreciate because that’s where I’m at in terms of what I like to wear (and what I can afford to!). I haven’t tried any of the refashioning tutorials but they are up next on my list! I love refashioning old clothes into new, exciting ones. She has incredible taste in clothing and basically I want to dress like her forever. This means that the tutorials are super and I’ve pinned just about every one. The photos are lovely and Liz styles her creations so well that I can totally see myself wearing them (minus the high heels, I live in snow bound Montreal and that’s dangerous).  If you’re into making your own clothes or want to learn. I highly HIGHLY suggest cotton & curls

Last but not least!

made by andi

Made by Andi is the brand new blog from the creator of Hoakon and Helga bags. While I was devastated when she stopped making her bags to pursue other things in life (only because I hadn’t had the chance to save up enough pennies for one yet) this blog is really promising and I’m excited to see where she takes it.  There are a few DIY’s up, and some info about running your own business (she successfully lived off making her bags for 3 years) which is super inspiring and I’m pumped to learn more about it through her creative business tips. I have a certain soft spot for this blog too because she lives in one of my hometowns (calgary) and I get to see familiar places in her photos. I don’t follow too many canadian blogs, mostly because I haven’t found that many yet, and while that’s not the reason I follow Andi, its definitely fun. She’s still building her blog but I very much recommend reading as she goes because she is a very talented lady and let’s be honest, talented people are awesome.

********

Best of Feb for sure here. These are all blogs I imagine reading for a while and all three have made it to the front page of my blog app. I check them first every day. Give them a look and some love because they really deserve it.

What are your favourite blogs?

4 thoughts on “Best of Blogs: February

  1. Pingback: Best of Blogs: March |

  2. Pingback: Best Of: March |

  3. oh my…thank you so much, keetha!
    your kindest words made my day…really. i’m so happy you came to find me!

    xoxo

    • it was so much my pleasure Katie! Your blog is really really inspiring and I’m thrilled to be following along with you.

      Thanks for taking the time to come and look at my little space and for commenting. That made my day!