Stationary Drifting

Weekend Roundup: Feb 23/24

1 Comment

This weekend was incredibly quiet. It was snowy and grey and neither Mars or I were particularly interested in leaving our bed let alone the house.

snow alleywinter groceries

I did a little baking, making a variation of these dulce de leche chocolate banana muffins minus the chocolate but plusing some very liquid vanilla buttercream. With some a couple muffiin/cupcakes and a cup of my absolute favorite cream earl grey tea with honey and milk I spent most of Saturday reading the archives of my new favourite blog Pencil Box. I came across Katie’s blog through some references from other blogs I read and its really so wonderful. Her writing is so lovely and real, I really want to enjoy things like she does. Her photography is pretty incredible as well, I’m already trying out new photo editing techniques based on her advice. I highly recommend reading her blog for a sweet insight into life as a artistic mom of 2 in Ohio.

tea and muffins

We spent all day Sunday at our next door neighbour and good friend Jackie’s house. We were supposed to only do brunch but brunch went from eating, to doing nails, to Mars braiding Jackie’s hair to dinner. It was a nice vacation from our winter homebody-ing.

I don’t have any pictures of that day but I made crepes and thought I would share my recipe which came from a mix of advice from friends and my dad’s method. My base recipe is 1cup of flour, 1cup of milk (or water), 1 egg, 1 teaspoon of almond extract. Whisk until well blended and refrigerate for at least 30mins. Pour a small amount of batter onto a grease pan and tilt to spread the batter around as thin as possible. I use a cast iron pan and butter, or an oil (I use olive or coconut). Cook on one side until it doesn’t look raw then flip to cook the other side. Makes about 8 or 9 crepes. Serve with whatever toppings you like. This sunday we made a strawberry, blueberry, blackberry, raspberry syrup by cooking down frozen berries with maple syrup. Mixed that with yogurt and some dulce de leche and we had a really good sweet brunch. For savoury, I really like scrambled eggs, bacon and cheese wrapped in crepes with maple syrup on top.

Hope you had a nice weekend and are beating the winter doldrums.

 

One thought on “Weekend Roundup: Feb 23/24

  1. Pingback: Best of Blogs: February |