Stationary Drifting

On doing what you love

11 Comments

IMG_2183

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about what makes me happy and what I want to do with my life. This is not to say that I don’t always think about things like this (ahem, my yearly birthday meltdown). This process has just been a lot more productive lately.

I turned 30 this year which made me sit back a bit and think about what my next steps are. That coupled with my near constant job hunting (boo economy), and my decision that academia really isn’t for me (don’t get me started on ranting about my thesis), has set me on a track of trying to figure out how to have the life that I want. Part of my conclusion has been to stop “going with the flow” so much and start making intentional decisions about what to do next. Life may work out in its own way, and will whether I make plans or not, but I want to be a more active participant in what that looks like.

IMG_2180

Another source of this inspiration is that I’ve been reading a lot of blogs from people who are working for themselves in creative ways and making a living while doing what they love. I want to wake up every day excited about what I do and not going through the motions to get a pay cheque. Going through the motions is no kind of life. Life is short, people always say, but it can also be really long if you spend it sitting at a desk for hours a day not doing things that inspire you.

IMG_2182

So to that end I’ve been starting to do some research into things that I only ever considered to be hobbies before and figuring out how I can do those things as my life’s work. I’ve been trying to allow myself to imagine what it would be like to get to do those things all day every day, instead of trying to fit them in at the end of work days. Part of that is putting more intention into this blog and how I can do what I love and share it (which I also love). I don’t want to spill too many of the beans before I know what they all are. Suffice to say that I’ll be experimenting around with this space a bit for the next while. It may be a little scattered and the look will change often. I’m new at this and I’m doing a lot of behind the scenes research too. Hopefully I’ll be able to launch something exciting sometime this spring

11 thoughts on “On doing what you love

  1. …whoever you are, and whatever you do, life is short, but it is also wide.

    Find this book and read it – Life is Short But Wide, J. California Cooper

    • Agreed. I was feeling panicky the other day about being 30 and still not knowing what I want to do with my life and then I realized that even if it took me 5 more years to get on a track I could still work for 35 years (if I wanted). So I still have a long time. Time goes by fast but there is a lot of it and I should stop worrying.

    • Life moves at a measured speed and welcomes and dispatches us with an equal measure of detachment.

      Every minute 150 humans cycle in and 108 are removed.

      Many find happiness… even behind a desk. Aren’t humans odd? How wonderful.

    • Sure, aging can be a difficult process but it still beats the alternative.

    • its a strange feeling to get older and have my priorities change. I think my 20 year old self would highly disapprove but my 40 year old self is telling me to get with the program already. Being 30 is a strange age, I feel like I have a lot of new life things coming my way this decade.

    • So, you have voices in your head telling you what to do? Interesting.

      Knowing this I’d have to agree that you’re going to have a number of new life things coming your way.

      Although I haven’t completed this aging thing, upon reflection I’d say zero to twenty-nine is a turbulent and entirely self-serving age. We become champions of looking out for number one –YOLO! How many ‘selfies’ does one take and post before this behavior becomes questionable?

      Then, if you’re within the broadly defined normal range of human development, something changes. The “let’s focus on me because I find myself to be utterly fascinating” comes off as boring and childish.

      Now, this might throw everything I’ve said into question, but growing old doesn’t necessarily mean you also become smarter. If you’re dumb at 20 you’re going to be dumb at 60.

    • Oh, and never miss a good opportunity to keep your mouth shut.

    • I have no illusions that I will be smarter as I get older. Just hopefully dumb about different things…

      I wouldn’t say I have voices in my head. I just know how younger me would feel about now me. The older me is just a projection. Maybe older me will be perfectly fine with where I am now. Here’s hoping anyway.

    • You are bending space and time. So says Einstein.

      The older you isn’t just a projection as the younger you is now only but an illusion. The present you is your single animation.

      Dwelling in any dimension other than the present subjugates perception to the laws of invention.

    • “Have you ever transcended space and time?”
      “Yes. No. Uh, time, not space… No, I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

      from I ❤ Huckabees

    • Bingo!

      Bongo!

      Boingo!