Stationary Drifting

Homemade Holidays: Valentine’s Day

1 Comment

valentine's dayI never used to be much of a Valentine’s Day person before I started dating Mars. In fact I can’t remember ever celebrating with anyone other than my mom before. Mars changed that in my life because he’s a true romantic and even though I protested at first I knew it really loved it so now I’m a Valentine’s day person. Who knew that would happen? Its cute though because it kind of feels like every year is a celebration of our time together and of celebrating itself!

This year was our 3rd Valentine’s day together. We tend to celebrate with sweet gestures for each other and homemade gifts. Above is my love mobile for Mars. I crocheted a little red hearts for every month that we’ve been together and 3 hearts of different colours to represent each of our Valentine’s days together (using a variation of this pattern). Then I made a little scalloped top and crochet chained each heart up to to the top.

Then I hung it above the table and set it up for a nice breakfast with homemade Strawberry Chocolate Scones (using a variation of this recipe from madebyandi), homemade mocha lattes and a little card of the variety that I usually made Mars. Hand-drawn on a small blank cue card.

IMG_2118IMG_2123I took care of the morning and Mars took care of the evening with an at-home spa treatment including a massage, and a mani/pedi with chocolates, candles and music. He also made me a really awesome painting of my name. The whole thing was lovely.

Homemade holidays take a little more work and a little more time but in the end they can be really fun, inexpensive, and from the heart (most important).

We ain’t got money but we got a lot of love.

keetha base

One thought on “Homemade Holidays: Valentine’s Day

  1. Pingback: Best Of: February |