Stationary Drifting

Homemade Lip Balm

IMG_1940

I’ve tried my hand at making lip balm a couple of times now and I think I’m getting better at it. I really love my homemade lip balm because its a great gift for just about anyone and it can be easily adjusted to make whatever quantity and heaviness (its winter so it needs to be thick right now).

I am constantly losing lip balm so one of the reasons I really like this is because I can have lip balm everywhere that’s natural and works well for literally less than a dollar a container. This recipe is a combination of several I’ve found around the internet and some adjustments I’ve made myself but I think the base for my recipe came from Mountain Rose blog.

I bought my ingredients from little shops around my neighbourhood. Most of it is organic. I’ve you’re trying to find some online, I have never ordered from Mountain Rose Herbs but all the bloggers I follow highly recommend it so you could check it out. I’m not affiliated with Mountain Rose at all, just passing on the info.

xmas gifts for my family. Also my favourite mix so far.

xmas gifts for my family. Also my favourite mix so far.

Here is my method.

Ingredients:
2 tbsp jojoba oil (I’ve also used apricot oil, I’m sure others would work too)
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp beeswax
1 tbsp shea butter (optional)
1 tbsp/4 wafters cocoa butter
20 drops each of essential oil (I’ve used combinations of mint, vanilla, coconut and grapefruit – though not all at once! Usually just 2)
10 drops vitamin E oil (optional but recommended. It works as a preservative)

Directions:

  1. Mix jojoba oil, coconut oil, beeswax, shea butter and cocoa butter in a larger mason jar.
    • Shea butter and cocoa butter can be both put in or one of each. I like the shea butter because it soaks in fast and the cocoa butter for longer conditioning and also because it hardens the mixture.
  2. Put mason jar in a pot of boiling water and allow to melt, shaking occasionally. A lid loosely put on the jar keeps water out of the mixture and melts it faster.
  3. Once melted remove from water and stir in essential oils and vitamin E oil.
  4. Pour into containers and allow to harden overnight
    • this is important because otherwise it will be ridiculously soft, which is especially annoying when its in a tube.
  5. Label and date
    • always label and date. Even if this is the only time you made something you won’t remember the exact proportions and you will want to be able to adjust or replicate it later on. Also, its generally a good idea to use up the product within a year since there are no strong preservatives.

Tips:

  • For lip balm tubes, make sure to overfill so that they have a nice rounded off top. Otherwise they are pretty extremely concaved.
  • More butters and less oils makes it thicker and last longer
  • I still don’t have great essential oil ratios down. Mine are only lightly scented.
  • This amount usually makes about 10 containers of either lip balm tubes or small balm pots.

Note: I am not a herbalist or a medical professional of any kind. I’m sharing this information because I want to write about it, not because I know that it will be healthy for everyone. Please do not take this as medical or health advice. If you plan on taking herbs or using any recipes posted about here, make sure you take all necessary steps to make sure all ingredients are safe for you to use.

 

Comments are closed.