Stationary Drifting

Homemade Deodorant

rosemary mint deodorant: its pretty awesome! works better than any other deodorant I've used natural or aluminum laden

rosemary mint deodorant: its pretty awesome! works better than any other deodorant I’ve used natural or aluminum laden

Sorry for the crappy picture. I can’t believe I only took the one fuzzy phone picture of this when I totally love it and its the best deodorant I’ve ever used!

I’ve been getting into making my own products, its easy, quick, ridiculously cheap and doesn’t make me feel bad for smearing chemicals on my skin. So far I’ve made a couple of different types of lip balm, a pretty incredible body butter and this awesome deodorant.

I used a mix of this recipe from Frugally Sustainable minus the probiotics (because I didn’t have them and was unsure if I wanted them) and these (1) recipes(2) (the first one) from Wellness Mama. I substituted arrowroot powder for organic cornstarch since that’s what I had on hand. I’ve heard that arrowroot is better but I’m plenty happy with out this turned out so I’ll probably keep using this recipe until I either run out of cornstarch or am convinced otherwise.

Click the above link or google deodorant health risks if you want to know why one would like to find healthier ways to make ourselves smell good. Aluminum is just one of the risks but in the end I just like to know that the things my skin is absorbing daily are made of decent things and that I’m choosing every one of the ingredients. I like having fully knowledge/consent of what goes in and on my body, which is part of the reason that I started making things. I didn’t wear deodorant for a lot of years because of this desire. Not wearing deodorant was fine for me. I found that after about a month my body adjusted and I didn’t smell often, though I do shower every day so that helped. M has a really sensitive nose though, and asked me last winter if I would use deodorant again. He bought me a well known natural brand and it worked okay but I wasn’t totally pumped about it. So in November I tried making my own and I love it! Its moisturizing, smells good, keeps me dry and good smelling, and I know every single thing that went in it because I put it there!

Here’s the steps:

Homemade Deodorant

Ingredients

(I halved this recipe and still had more than enough for 2 sticks)

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup shea butter

1/2 cup beeswax

3 tbsp baking soda (I’ve read that if you have sensitive skin to avoid this and use extra cornstarch/arrowroot)

1/2 cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder

optional: essential oils. I used 20 drops of rosemary and 15 of peppermint

optional: a few drops of vitamin E oil to preserve

Steps

  1. Combine coconut oil, shea butter, and beeswax is a large mason jar. Put mason jar in a pot of boiling water. The water should be deep enough to come up the sides of the mason jar above the amount of ingredients but not so high that any water can get into the mason jar. I’ve taken to putting a lid very loosely on the mason jar to avoid this. Shake/swirl the mason jar frequently to help the ingredients in melting and to mix. Don’t shake too hard or the ingredients will just go up the sides of the jar and you’ll lose some of the mixture.
  2. Once melted, remove the mason jar from the water and mix in the baking soda (if you’re using it), cornstarch/arrowroot powder, essential oils of your choice, and vitamin E oil (which is healthy for your skin and helps preserve the mixture. I’ve read that grapefruit seed extract also works).
  3. While still warm pour the mixture into the containers of your choice. I used a deodorant container that I bought (though old ones can be washed out) and a small mason jar for the extra that I put in the fridge.
  4. Label the container with ingredients and date made (generally good practice for this stuff).
  5. Allow the mixture to harden overnight
  6. Use as much as you like! I find that allowing the deodorant to melt for a second on my skin before applying helps but its pretty soft anyway so if I’m in a hurry I just apply and go.

I’ve been wearing this for about 2 months and I love it. I haven’t tried it in the summer or in extreme exercising conditions but I’ve found that I stay pretty dry and good smelling all the time. I love the rosemary & mint combo. It doesn’t stain my clothes, moisturizes my skin and makes me feel good.

I’m a total homemade product convert. Upcoming are my lip balm and body butter recipes. Check out my pinterest for more recipes I want to try.

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.