Stationary Drifting

2 new (to me) favourite photographers

For those that don’t know me I should preface this by saying that I love photography. I have since forever. I remember my mom giving me a camera as a gift when I was 7 or 8 years old because she was impressed by the pictures I took for my brownie badge and I’ve been hooked ever since. My dad’s siblings are also photographers and I have been lucky to get some personal lessons from them at different times. My Aunt Johanna was the photographer at my wedding (blog post and pictures coming soon I swear), and I have a happy memory of  being 13 and visiting her by myself for the weekend. She gave me a camera, loaded me up with film and let me go, including inside her darkroom. It was basically the best ever. I collect cameras, I read camera blogs, I take photos as much as I can. I’ve been having a personal revival with film ever since my good digital slr was stolen, so you don’t get to see as many of my photos here as I would otherwise post if I had digital but take my word for it, I’m a fan.

One of my favourite photoblogs is Photojojo. It appeals to all my nerdiness for gadgets, gives great product reviews and lots of fun photography related tips and projects, as well as links to other photographers doing great stuff. So without further ado, here are my two new favourite photographers, as introduced by photojojo.

Daniel Beltrá

Originally from Spain, but living in the US now (according to his bio) Beltrá does what he calls Conservation Photography, and does it well. He reminds me of another great artist that I love, Edward Burtynsky, in his portrayal of human impacts on natural landscapes from a view point of epic proportions.

click through the pictures to seen them in their full, photographer website, glory.

Jon Shireman

I have no info about this photographer, except when you look at his flickr there are a lot of great and different shots that play a lot with light and lighting of a whole array of subjects. My particular favourites of are these frozen and smashed flowers because it it takes something beautiful and ruins them in a beautiful way, but also because the way that they break is so unnatural that it kinda doesn’t compute in my brain.

Ugh, flickr is annoying about not letting people post images so just click on the links to see the gorgeous photos because they really should be seen in their entirety.

 

Comments are closed.