Stationary Drifting

spring cleanse: days 4-6

Day 4:

Feeling better but still not awesome. Not cleanse awesome anyway. I’m still waiting for that “glow” that everyone talks about where they feel amazing and all that good stuff. I miss eating regular food. I went to a restaurant and ate a salad, hardly worth going to a restaurant for. I don’t miss sugar and caffeine as much, which is good.

Day 5:

I drank last night. Alcohol is not explicitly banned from my cleanse but I think it would kind of make sense that I don’t drink. I made sure I had booze that wasn’t wheat/yeast based and drank it with tonic so that I didn’t have sugar. Basically I had gin&tonics. I know it sounds like I’m justifying but whatever, I had a bad day yesterday (not cleanse related) and I wanted a drink. In case you’re wondering, yes, sometimes I do reward myself with alcohol for bad days. Anyway, I felt okay getting up today. I really didn’t drink that much though I feel like it hit me harder. In the quitting smoking world I had one drag last night, didn’t like it and wasn’t tempted again. Feeling pretty proud of myself for that!

I did break some rules today though. I had some bread at lunch. I had ordered a sandwich that I thought I could take apart and just eat the inside. Turned out that that would prove difficult so I gave up and ate the bread. I got full really really fast and have been low energy the rest of the day. Seems like I can’t shock my body like that… I also had a coffee today, I was out with Silvie and didn’t like the tea selection! I had a long pull americano with soy milk. It was no latte. I think I will hold out on the coffee from now on.

I’m feeling more spritely today though. Definitely not amazing (probably because of the bread consumed) but definitely not crappy. Sugar and other food cravings are mostly gone, and I feel like I can avoid foods without too much trouble now (minus the bread and coffee rule breaking). I miss being able to eat whatever I want whenever I want but I’m less angry about it.

I do wish I was doing this with someone though, I could use some commiseration. Though I am also pumped a bit about relying on my own will power.

9 more days.

Day 6:

Blew my cleanse all to hell today. Mood and Marseau decided to have a soul food night and for a while I was thinking that I was going to just eat the stuff that’s okay and suffer through but I woke up today on a mission to break it. And break it I did. I ate tons of mac n’ cheese, cheddar buttermilk biscuits, breaded and fried chicken and asparagus, and beer, and ice cream for desert.

It was delicious and I don’t feel bad about it at all.

Comments are closed.