Stationary Drifting

52 Themes: Macro

Week 3: Macro

So its not exactly the 3rd week by the gregorian calendar but it is the 3rd week of this project. Both Jared and I got a bit distracted by other things going on in our lives. Apparently he had been writing his first feature length film! I, less excitingly, have been working on my thesis. We’ve been emailing each other back and forth a couple of times a week, apologizing for not having kept up our end of the bargain and promising to finish soon. Finally, here are my photos from the newest theme, I imagine Jared’s will also be up soon.

This week was Jared’s choice: Macro. Neither of us have macro lenses, and so we were relying on the digital macro functions on our cameras. They aren’t as good as macro done with a real lens but they do pretty good for what they are. I, personally, love taking macro photos. I love the close up view of the photo’s subject and what that reveals. I like the different perspective on every day things and how something as simple as snow melting on a jacket can turn into a really interesting picture. Macro can show what something is really made of, and it can also render something totally unrecognizable. It forces me to get up close and personal with the thing I’m photographing. I was really excited about the theme this week.

I played around a bit with a close focus on a mundane object so that I could blur out the background. I really like that effect and how it changes the way I look at the bigger picture, like how the packing tape on the pole illuminates the sky and the apartment building behind,  how the paper crane makes me want to look at my kitchen, and the close up of the flower buds makes me see all the other buds coming to life. I also did some traditional macro by getting up close to something and trying to capture its details, I started with some flowers growing along the edge of a building (a sign of spring!) but got really excited about getting up close to a discarded apple core and trying to capture the dirt and wrinkles. I think my favourite from this theme was the reflection of me taking the picture of the bolt covers in the closest cover while the rows of the other covers go up in the background. I really like the perspective that happens in that photo.

Anyway, here is my submission for the 3rd week of 52 Themes. I’m still not feeling like I’m really stretching my photography skill and maybe for the next one I will go out on a photographic adventure to capture what I want from this. In the meantime I just like the fact that I’m carrying my camera with me everywhere and how it forces me to look at my everyday surroundings differently.

Comments are closed.