Stationary Drifting

Cross-Stitch: Tiny Michael Jackson

1 Comment

One of my oldest friends is turning thirty today. She is also without a doubt the biggest Michael Jackson fan I’ve ever met, and I’ve met a lot of MJ fans.

As luck would have it the Cirque du Soleil Michael Jackson Immortal Tour is coming through Montreal this week. Felicia bought tickets over a year ago. She is beyond excited. I’m excited too, I’ve never seen Cirque and I can’t wait to see her face at the show.

In honour of this momentous occasion I came up with the idea of making a tiny cross-stitch MJ for her. I got the idea from Black and White and Loved All Over who recently made one of her family. Following the pattern from Martha Stewart‘s site I made some tweaks and did the best MJ cross-stitch impression I could come up with.

my michael jackson cross stitch pattern

michael jackson crossstitch (click this link to download the word file with graph paper so you can tweak for yourself)

It didn’t actually take that long to come together. A couple of episodes of Numb3rs and I was done the MJ part. I was really in love with it from early on.

in progress

I mean seriously, its so adorable its almost hard to give away. Good thing she’s such a fan.

Anyway, the MJ part took maybe 2 hours once I got it started. The lettering a little bit longer because I was being really meticulous and a bit of a perfectionist. I’m normally not but Felicia is and plus its her all time favourite performer and her 30th birthday, its got to be good.

Overall I’m pretty thrilled with how it turned out. I went for later day MJ because I didn’t have any brown embroidery floss in my jar. But I agree with Marseau that it would have been a lot cooler if I had made early day MJ. I also didn’t have any white so I made his shirt blue. I wish I had made it white though, and been able to put a little roll in his pants with the white socks. I don’t know why but that’s what I remember the most from his famous moon-walking performance. If I had more time I would have made him bigger so I could do the one glove thing.

But still, its pretty damn awesome.

Now I just need to figure out how to frame it….

One thought on “Cross-Stitch: Tiny Michael Jackson

  1. Great post! Very creative 🙂 Here’s another way you can keep MJ’s memory alive http://bit.ly/GHiVUy