Stationary Drifting

52 Themes: Waiting

Week 2!

This week was my choice in theme. I picked ‘waiting’ because I was waiting every day for spring to finally show up. I had all sorts of plans for what I was going to take pictures of this week but none of them really ended up happening. So instead you get a variety of shots I took when I remembered to take them. They are loosely based around the idea of waiting, or later rationalized as fitting into the idea of waiting.

I only have 8 this week because I would rather put up 8 good ones than have a couple of (extra) random ones just to make the 10 mark. What can I say, I wasn’t really committed to the project this week. Not that I ignored it, just that I had a busy week and didn’t get a chance to set aside a day or an afternoon to focus on taking pictures.

That said, I’m happy with the ones I have. They aren’t all stellar but I really like the one with the green church. I have been playing with the white balance function on my camera. Not just for balancing the picture in the moment, but also using an old white balance on a new shot, I’ve been finding its adding interesting colour washes to pictures. I also like the close up of my drink, I’m still very into macro photography. I like the ways views that it gives on regular objects. In the glass picture I like the up close focus on the sugar. I like the shots of M because my boyfriend is really cute/hot, I think the pictures themselves are good but the subject is really fun to photograph.

Remember that this is not just my project, Jared will be putting up a bunch of photos on the same theme over on his site. Make sure to check them out.

UPDATE: Ha! Jared killed it this week with his series of his cat Yeltsin and a stuffed deer taking turns waiting for things. I laughed out loud at each shot as I scrolled down. He took the shots with his polaroid and scanned them so they have a nice yellow tone and interesting sharpness. My favourite is the one of Yeltsin picking up his dinner can. Not just for the cuteness but also for the framing, the light on the floor and the colour. Bar raised brother. I’m going to have to think up something good for this next round…week 3 is Jared’s choice. Check back on or around Monday.

 

waiting for M to wake up

waiting (patiently) in line

waiting for the light to change

waiting = time

waiting for my turn

waiting for our food

cherry waiting

waiting to get his picture taken

Comments are closed.