Stationary Drifting

Things recently cooked/baked/blended and enjoyed

My cooking bug is coming back. I think M and I take turns, one of us cooks and cleans until we are tired of it or think that the other one does nothing and then we switch. Either way I’ve been happy in the kitchen again lately and have been making lots of yummy (and a few meh, but I’m not going to showcase those) things.

this hung in my mom's kitchen forever, now it hangs in mine (I think my aunt might have made it, I should ask...)

***************************

A yummy vegan apple crisp.

The recipe came mostly from Doris Encyclopedia.

it didn't last very long...

A is for Apple Crisp:

6-7 granny smith apples (I used apples that came in my food box, they were red, possibly royal gala and worked great/are delicious)
1/2 cup of butter (I used earth balance)
1cup of sugar (I used cane sugar)
3/4cup of flour (I used brown pastry)
1teaspoon of cinnamon

I also added about a cup of chopped almonds for some crunch. I chopped them really fine so that they mixed in well and cooked a bit.

Cut up apples really thin. Put 1/2 the apples in a square pan and sprinkle with a little cinnamon and sugar. Put in the rest of the apples (i placed in thirds and sprinkled after every one, including the last). It will really fill up the pan and if you don’t cut them thin they won’t fit.

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix all the ingredients, aside from the apples, then sprinkle them on top of the apples. Bake for 1 hour.

It doesn’t taste the same as buttery apple crisp but it’s still really delicious. M and I have been eating it for breakfast lunch and dinner.

*************
Bread!

Corrie send me this recipe for no knead bread a little while ago and I’ve been making it often ever since. It’s so easy and so good, I’ve sworn to never buy shitty grocery store bread again, and to rarely pay out the high prices for bakery bread. I do need a better pot than my cast iron pan though. Note: I use half white all purpose flour and half brown. It makes for more dense, less airy bread but it’s better for the body.

also didn't last long. I make this several times a week

Artisan bread

3 cups of white flour
1/4 teaspoon of yeast
1 1/4 teasons of salt
1 1/3 cups of water

Mix the flour, salt, and yeast in bowl. Add the water and mix with a spoon for less than a minute until you get a sticky and lumpy ball of dough. Add a touch of water if it’s too dry. Cover the bowl and let it sit in a warm place for at least 12 hours of rising (I tried 24 hours and…well, you’ll have to try yourself, but you won’t be disappointed). That’s right. Just leave it. Don’t knead it. The little fermenting bubbles will do all the work for you.

After the initial rise, scoop the dough onto a heavily floured piece of parchment paper (having the paper on a tray makes it easier to move). Pull the edges of the ball so they fold over the top and meet in the middle. You’ll do this 4 or 5 times so that all the seams of dough are on the top. Now flip the floury ball over so the seams are hidden (flour on the hands also helps).

Preheat your oven from 425-475 degrees F with one of those inside. The lower temp gives a softer tan coloured crust while 475 gives a crisp and chocolaty crust.

After the loaf has risen for about an hour, grab the four corners of the parchment and gently transfer the loaf and parchment to the preheated casrole dish with a lid ( the round white ceramic dishes with the blue flowers work great, I think it’s called corning wear) and slide it into the oven for 30 min with a lid and then 15 minutes without. Eat fresh or cooling on a rack for an hour does help you to get the biggest bubbles.

*************
His and hers humus.

I can’t believe how easy humus is to make, I will never ever buy humus again. M doesn’t like stuff in his humus so I usually make a big batch of plain, pour half into a container for him and then add the stuff I like. I forgot the olive oil in this batch but this is generally how I make it.

mine is on the left. M is mad now because mine is more delicious and his is gone

M’s humus:

2 cans of chickpeas, rinsed
1/2 can of the chickpea water
Several cloves of garlic
A few tablespoons of tahini
A glug of olive oil
Salt and pepper.

Throw all into the blender and blend until smooth.
I’ve been experimenting. My blender needs enough liquid that it will turn over but the humus needs to not be too liquidy. Hence the imperfect measurements.

K’s humus:

All of the above plus:

A big handful of cilantro
Cayenne and paprika to taste.

Blend until smooth or, in my case, until the spices are well mixed in and the cilantro is chopped up really tiny in the previous humus mix.

***********

Cantaloupe Coconut and Ginger Smoothie

I like to get something good in my belly first thing in the morning but when I first wake up I hate eating. Too sleepy. Drinking is okay though so I’ve been making myself smoothies almost every morning since I brought my blender home from my mom’s last fall. It’s so great and fresh and makes me want to face the day even more than coffee does. It’s also a great way to sneak in tons of ginger which keeps the winter sick germs away (I have a really terrible immune system).

i drink all my smoothies in jars. I just like it better

This is what I threw in the blender today:

Half a cantaloupe from our food box
1 organic banana from the market
About 4 strawberries from the market (the last from my grocery adventure last week)
A big chunk of ginger from the market, peeled and chopped (to avoid too many ginger strings)
A quarter cup ish of coconut milk
Filled to the top of the fruit with fresh pressed apple juice from the market.
A generous amount of locally made organic plain yogurt from the market.

Blend until its smooth and enjoy immediately. I put the other half in a jar and stuck it in the fridge for later, or for tomorrow.

*********
I like doing nice things for my body. As M said last night as he was snacking on bread and humus, it’s so cool to be eating all homemade things. Which is a big shift for the two of us since we both used to be chronic eaters out.

Comments are closed.