Stationary Drifting

reasons

one of my favorite things to do when I’m walking about town (or riding) is to let my mind flow over the millions of stimulating things, stories, pictures, words, or conversations that I have been exposed to. I allow this free thinking to go in whatever direction it feels like taking, and often where I find myself mentally is far, far away from where it was when I started my journey, when I reach my destination.

I’ve done this for pretty much as long as I can remember. I used to like to play a game when I was walking home from elementary school, which consisted of trying to track back where I made the leaps in thought, what subject led to which and why. Inevitably I would forget what came first, or second, or get distracted by a thought that I hadn’t finished yet and go back to musing on it and so amuse myself my whole way home. It was a good way to pass the time, and still is.

I often find myself missing long walks or at least quiet, uninterrupted (by phones, computers, people) time when I stop walking around for a while. I use this time to sort out feelings and problems of mine, to develop ideas on topics I never had time to develop otherwise. To make observations about life around me. I love the random bits of information you get from walking down side streets with your eyes open.

I find that I can slip into this self-conversation fairly easily. Sometimes to my determent, like when someone is talking to me and I either get bored of what they are saying or get caught on something they said already. My ability to slip into this mode of cerebral entertainment is highly increased when I have background noise, like a bus, traffic, noisy room where I can’t really hear what’s going on, or music on my headphones. This is one of the main reasons why I don’t listen to music as I walk, I stop paying attention to what’s going on around me, which is dangerous for pretty much everyone involved. Also, I like to see/hear what’s happening around me, it gives me more fodder. A lot of which I intend to post here.

Which is the reason for this blog. I often come across thoughts that I would like to remember, and sometimes share. I have this intense need for journaling, which has never really translated into blogging, but I figure that I should probably catch up with the times and go online. Test out this blogging thing that is all the rage. This probably means that I’ll have to develop a little more courage (ego?) and be okay with people reading these thoughts but I’m starting out with baby steps, for now the only people who will be able to see it will be those I invite. I might change that later, I might not. We’ll see what I think about it…

In the meantime. I’m going to start going through the list of topics I’ve been keeping on bits of paper, in my book, and on post-its and see where it takes me. If you feel like reading them, well…thanks, I’m honoured. Feel free to comment, I like leaving traces, I like it when other people do too.

Comments are closed.